Share This Post

Driving & Logistics / Guides

UK Driving licence codes and categories

driving licence codes

What are driving licence codes?

The driving licence codes demonstrate the conditions you must abide by before earning a green flag to drive your vehicle.

There is an estimate of over 50 driving licence codes, which we will explore in this article, including a plethora of categories consisting of your eyesight and other biological aids to vehicle modifications.

These codes are generally found on the back of your licence and can be different in Northern Ireland. Read here to know all the UK’s driving licence categories.

Driving licence penalty codes

If by any chance you’ve committed a driving offence and needed a speed awareness course, you could be served by penalty points on your licence.

Since such points are going to be stuck on your driving licence until its expiry date, which can go a long way for eight or ten years, so we recommend buying valid insurance.

Below are some conviction codes used in motoring

Conviction codesMeaningPenalty Points
AC10You didn’t stop after an accident5-10
BA10You are driven after being disqualified by the order of the court.6
CD10Driven without care and attention.3-9
DD10Caused serious harm while driving dangerously3-11

Are the provisional driving licence codes different from the standard?

The short answer to this question is ‘No’. Both the provisional & standard driving licence codes are the same, so it’s essential to read and understand them before you drive, particularly when it comes to what you can operate under a provisional licence.

All driving licence codes in the UK

Driving Licence CodesWhat do they mean
01eyesight correction, for example, glasses or contact lenses
2hearing/communication aid
10modified transmission
15modified clutch
20modified braking systems
25modified accelerator systems
30combined braking and accelerator systems (for licences issued before 28 November 2016)
31pedal adaptations and pedal safeguards
32combined service brake and accelerator systems
33combined service brake, accelerator and steering systems
35modified control layouts
40modified steering
42modified rear-view mirror(s)
43Modified driving seats
44modifications to motorbikes
44 (1)single operated brake
44 (2)adapted front wheel brake
44 (3)adapted rear wheel brake
44 (4)adapted accelerator
44 (5)(adjusted) manual transmission and manual clutch
44 (6)(adjusted) rear-view mirror(s)
44 (7)(adjusted) commands (direction indicators, braking light, etc.)
44 (8)seat height allowing the driver, in a sitting position, to have two feet on the surface at the same time and balance the motorcycle during stopping and standing
44 (11)adapted footrest
44 (12)adapted hand grip
45motorbikes only with sidecar
46tricycles only (for licences issued before 29 June 2014)
70exchange of licence
71duplicate of licence
78restricted to vehicles with automatic transmission
79limited to vehicles in conformity with the specifications stated in brackets on your licence
79 (2)limited to category AM vehicles of the 3-wheel or light quadricycle type
79 (3)restricted to tricycles
96allowed to drive a vehicle and trailer where the trailer weighs at least 750kg, and the combined weight of the vehicle and trailer is between 3,500kg and 4,250kg
97not allowed to drive category C1 vehicles which are required to have a tachograph fitted
101not for hire or reward (that is, not to make a profit)
102drawbar trailers only
103subject to certificate of competence
105vehicle, not more than 5.5 metres long
106restricted to vehicles with automatic transmissions
107not more than 8,250 kilograms
108subject to minimum age requirements
110limited to transporting persons with restricted mobility
111limited to 16 passenger seats
113limited to 16 passenger seats except for automatics
114with any unique controls required for safe driving
115Organ donor
118start date is for the earliest entitlement
119the weight limit for the vehicle does not apply
121restricted to conditions specified in the Secretary of State’s notice
122valid on successful completion: Basic Moped Training Course. This does not apply to trial e-scooters
125tricycles only (for licences issued before 29 June 2014)

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>