Share This Post


What is the Direct Vision Standard (DVS)?

Direct Vision Standard

Direct Vision Standard (DVS) is one of the very first legislation in the UK. Initiated from 26th October 2020, it’s now mandatory for all goods vehicles (including vehicles outside of the UK) above 12 tonnes GW to acquire a permit to operate into Great London.

The DVS legislation is enforced by Transport for London (TfL) that uses a Star Rating system to identify how much a driver can see from the vehicle’s driver seat respective to other road users.

After the vehicle is issued for a star rating by the manufacturer, the zero to five rating is designated based on the stock vehicle features fitted while leaving the production. Noting that all aftermarket safety systems fitted are deemed obsolete while rating.

HGVs that do not meet the least requirement of one-star are ought to comply with the installation of the safety systems for indirect vision, i.e., relevant to CLOCS & FORS specifications enforced to alert road users who are in the vehicle’s blind spot.

Note: Installing the safety systems doesn’t mean the alteration of star rating, but will permit you to drive and operate your vehicle into Great London.

By 2024, the safety measure is supposed to increase with a minimum of 3-star requirements. To understand further, here’s Health and Safety Legislation Checklist for Fleet Drivers.

London Direct Vision Standard (DVS) Enforcement Map

The Direct Vision Standard enforcement map covers all of the Greater London.

The DVS map spotlights the area of Greater London, where the permits are mandatory from 26th October 2020. Inclusion of vehicles operating inside the UK or travelling into London from overseas will be enforced.

Direct Vision Standard Map

How long will the permit last?

The validity of the HGV Safety Permit varies on the factors like vehicle’s minimum DVS requirement and the granted Safety System subjected to permit driving in the UK.

Below is the information to consider before checking your permit validity.

  • From the date of enforcement, the vehicles rated one or two stars that have qualified on the Safe System will be expired at the end of 25th October 2024. Later on, the vehicle will need to be re-complied for a further ten-year permit under a cumulative Safety System.
  • Vehicles permitted with three, four, or five stars will be expired at the end of 25th October 2030 or ten years from the application grant.

The updated 2022 review of the cumulative Safety System requirement will be held under the account with any new technology equipment that is assetable further. If deemed crucial, these are considered necessary to be installed on all zero, one & two-star rated vehicles before re-application.

Before applying for the DVS permit, we recommend reading the Direct Vision Standard and Safety Permit terms & conditions for HGVs.

How to find my vehicle’s DVS Star Rating?

Since there is no public list available to access, the vehicle operators will need to contact their vehicle manufacturer to find out their DVS Star Rating with a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) in hand.

If your vehicle is issued with zero stars, the operator is informed to apply for a Safety System to be qualified for the permit.

If you need to figure out your vehicle’s DVS Star Rating or whether you comply, you can check the free DVS Star Rating service available on the official TfL website.

Simply provide your vehicle registration mark (your number plate) and the country of registration to obtain the needed information.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>